Adoption Adventure

This is my first blog post ever.

I created this blog several months ago, and have not made a post until now. That’s the story of my life these days. I think about things for a long time before actually getting to do them; I think it has something to do with being a mama to a one year old toddler, going to University, being on the board of a great little non-profit (www.matoto.org) and just generally being a busy body.

However, there are many things I have been thinking about for the last while and I am pleased to announce and celebrate that some of those things are actually happening! For example, I am finally making very cool felt dryer balls (something I’ve wanted to learn for a year, I’ll post about that later), and I have started a running program (months after telling myself I would, I might post about that later too), and the most exciting of all, my husband and I met with an adoption agency today and we are starting an inter-country adoption application! 

Ever since my husband (whom, for the purposes of this blog I’ll call the Mr. Hempleseed) and I met, we’ve talked about adopting children. After we got married, we decided to try to start a family the ‘old fashioned way’, and lo and behold we now have a one year old running around the house. Our little man (whom, for the purposes of this blog, I’ll call Sir Riel…haha…suriel, surreal, get it?) attached to my bosom after a marvelous pregnancy, a glorious labour, and a freakin’ crazy birth. That was just over a year ago now, and while I can’t imagine getting pregnant again (I’ll post on why some time soon), I do want to grow our happy hippy family, so adoption it is!

I won’t say much more for now. After all this is my first. blog. post. ever. I will tell you this: We are putting in our adoption application in the coming few days and on it we have to write our ‘religion and spiritual values’ in a box about the size of four peanuts. I wrote ‘Animism and Pantheism, Not Active’. I dare you to google that.

So, MamaPutu will officially become our adoption adventure blog, interspersed with other musings, such as what it means to be an animist-pantheist. (I just discovered my religion with this funky little test, who knew you could determine your religion with a few multiple choice questions?). Just kidding, I probably won’t talk about animism, pantheism, or any other ism. Okay, maybe some feminism. But probably not. Well, maybe.

If you have read this, you’re a rare bird, and you know what they say about rare birds….

I haven’t the faintest idea what they say about rare birds, so if you know, please tell me.

About mamaputu

oh you know, another mama who wants to share her news, observations, revelations, concerns, creations, and incantations about the world.
This entry was posted in Adoption. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Adoption Adventure

  1. Kaya Marshall says:

    This is so exciting. Congrats on the coming adventure. Lots of love to your blooming family.

  2. Bev Hunter says:

    You are a crazy, wonderful, goofy, amazing woman and i am proud that you’re my daughter-in-love!

  3. Susannah Bell says:

    Yay, bookmarking your blog, Putu! ❤

Leave a Reply

