SweetnSavory Popcorn with Nutritional Yeast

This is my first recipe. blog. post. ever.

So, first I’ll tell you a little bit about my philosophy on recipes. Because yes, I have a philosophy on recipes.

I’m a ‘little of this, dash of that’ kind of gal when it comes to cooking and baking. In fact, I don’t remember the last time I followed a recipe exactly. And I don’t just substitute an ingredient sometimes or use a little less sugar than is recommended. Most of time it could be said that I significantly alter the recipe. Up until recently, I didn’t even own a set of measuring cups. I’ll be honest and say that this has, on occasion, resulted in epic kitchen disasters. Most of the time though, the benefits outweigh the ‘well, at least we can compost it’ moments.

Some of the benefits of getting creative with recipes include:

  • You don’t have to run to the grocery store for that one missing ingredient when your kid just went down for a nap after an hour of rubbing his back and singing Baby Beluga over and over again and this is the only hour in your day where you’ll be able to have the oven on since said kid just figured out how to open the oven door but you haven’t bought a safety latch yet.
  • You can use up those random bits in the fridge and pantry that would otherwise remain those random bits in the fridge and pantry for so long that eventually your dad will come over and say ‘hey, maybe you should clean your fridge out sometime’.
  • You can call the recipe your own because you so significantly altered its chemistry that its flavor and composition deserve an entirely different title (for example coconut sesame cookies might become chocolate chip oatmeal puffs with coconut sesame sprinkles).  This makes you a chef!

When I post recipes, you’ll be offered options and encouraged to tailor the recipe to your dietary needs, pantry supplies, kitchen scraps and ‘recipe philosophy’!

Okay, so this brings me to my first. ever. recipe. blog. post. I figured I’d start simple.

Sweet and Savoury Popcorn with nutritional yeast.

This popcorn recipe is a multi-tasker. It satisfies snack cravings while providing the health benefits of coconut oil and nutritional yeast.

What you’ll need:

  • Some popcorn! I use about ¾ – 1 cup of kernels for two people. Please make from scratch, microwaves are so out of style in this DIY world.
  • Two or so tablespoons of Extra Virgin Coconut Oil (one of my favorite bloggers HybridRastaMama is a huge fan of coconut oil so I’ll leave it to her to tell you why this stuff is so mmmmmgood: Benefits of Coconut Oil, by HybridRastaMama)
  • Two to three teaspoons of Maple Syrup (you could also use Agave Syrup, Honey or any other liquid sweetener)
  • If you’re a butter person, a teaspoon or two of butter
  • ¼ cup of nutritional yeast (High in protein, B vitamins, and fibre)
  • A dash of salt.

Place the extra virgin coconut oil, the maple syrup and the butter in a small saucepan on low, stirring occasionally, until it liquefies and mixes. Keep warm until the popcorn is ready.

Make your popcorn!

Once the popcorn is ready, place half of it in your bowl(s) and drizzle half the liquid oil mix over it. Then add half of the nutritional yeast. Stir. Then add the rest of your popcorn, drizzle the rest of the oil mix, and add the rest of the nutritional yeast. Add a dash of sea salt, stir, grab a napkin, and enjoy!

(PS – Sorry no pictures, I hope to add photos to my blog posts soon!)

About mamaputu

oh you know, another mama who wants to share her news, observations, revelations, concerns, creations, and incantations about the world.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

